Fireworks ordinance to come before the Macon-Bibb County Commission

Macon-Bibb County Commissioner Mallory Jones
Macon-Bibb County Commissioner Mallory Jones. Photo Courtesy Facebook.

According to Commissioner Mallory Jones, a firework ordinance will be considered by the Operations and Finance Committee on July 12, 2016 at 9:00 AM. The legislation will add a noise restriction after 9:00 PM on all nights of the year except December 31, January 1, July 3 and July 4. The state restricts what local governments can do on those nights as they are nights that are traditionally popular for the launching of fireworks to celebrate Independence Day and the New year.

On his Facebook page, Commissioner Jones wrote “The only thing we can revise if the Commission will approve is to eliminate the use of Fireworks after 9:00 pm with a Noise Ordinance.”

The members of the committee include:

Gary Bechtel – Committee Chairman
Elaine Lucas – Committee Vice-Chairman
Scotty Shepherd
Virgil Watkins
Larry Schlesinger

Jones is not a member of the committee, but would have a vote if considered by the full commission upon approval of the Operations and Finance Committee.

What do you think about the proposed restrictions and what are your thoughts after the fireworks on and around Independence Day?



Published by Doug Deal

Founder Doug Deal is a former chemical engineer from Georgia Tech who switched careers into software development at the turning of the millennium. He has lived in Macon for nearly 12 years and started Macon Community News in 2013 with his wife Lauren. His goal in starting the newspaper was to publicize positive news because he grew tired of so much negativity driving most local coverage. He has 2 children, Sam and Isobel.