The online application process for the Bibb County School District’s magnet schools and programs for the 2019-2020 school year opened on Wednesday, November 14, and will remain open through December 11. After the application period closes, students will be unable to apply to enter these magnet programs for the 2019-2020 school year.

The district’s magnet schools are Alexander II Math & Science Magnet School, Burdell-Hunt Communications Magnet School, Heard Academic Magnet School and Vineville Academy of the Arts at the elementary school level, along with Miller Fine Arts Magnet Middle School and Central Fine Arts & International Baccalaureate Magnet High School. Heard joins the group of magnet schools for the first time with a Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math (STEAM) focus. To access magnet school applications, visit the District’s website at

Bibb County magnet school application
Bibb County magnet school applications are due by December 11th,

School bus transportation will be available next year for students who apply and are accepted to attend Miller Fine Arts Magnet Middle School (grades 6-8), Burdell-Hunt Communications Magnet School (grades K-5) and Central Fine Arts & International Baccalaureate Magnet High School (grades 9-12).

Each elementary and middle magnet school will be open each day school is in session until December 11 from 10:00 a.m. until 2:45 p.m. for any parent/guardian needing assistance or access to a computer to complete the online application. Also, parents may call Central at (478) 779-2300 for an appointment to have assistance with completing the online application process or to arrange for access to a computer.
For questions about applications or additional assistance with the online application process, parents may call the Department of Fine Arts and Magnet Programs at (478) 765-8595.



Published by Guest Columnist

The opinions and views expressed by guest columnists and contributors are their own and do not reflect the views of Macon Community News, its affiliates or other contributors.